Ian McEwan nominated for UK comic fiction awardMon Apr 26, 7:34 pm ET

LONDON (Reuters) – British novelist Ian McEwan was a surprise inclusion on the shortlist for this year’s Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Fiction, billed as Britain’s only award in the category.

McEwan, not normally considered a comic writer, was nominated for “Solar,” which tackles the issue of climate change. The Times newspaper described the book as “a comedy every bit as brilliant as its title might suggest.”

The other four nominees are Paul Murray (“Skippy Dies”), Tiffany Murray (“Diamond Star Halo”), David Nicholls (“One Day”) and Malcolm Pryce (“From Aberystwyth With Love”).

The winner of the award will be announced at the Hay literary festival in late May.

Previous winners of the award, named after the author P.G. Wodehouse, include Will Self and DBC Pierre.

(Reporting by Mike Collett-White; Editing by Steve Addison)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s